Posted by: AlohaBlu | March 31, 2013

2013 Yarn & Fiber Colors – Weeks 12-13

Aloha! Here are the colors and inspirational images for weeks 12-13.

We’ve been missing ‘home’ again so I thought I’d dye up some reminders from the island.

This is WAIMANALO FLOWERS in sw merino/tencel roving and merino/cashmere/nylon fingering yarn:

WAIMANALOFLOWERS_MERTENR_02

WAIMANALOFLOWERS_CASHMCN_03

I think I’ve only dyed up this colorway one other time and seeing how I’m now in LOVE with the color orange . . . again . . . this was great fun to dye up. ORANGE HIBISCUS in sparkle lace yarn and sw merino/tencel roving:

ORANGEHIBISCUS_SPARKLE_L_01

ORANGEHIBISCUS_SWMERTENR_01

And the inspirational photo that I took years ago when I had potted hibiscus plants. Most of the time, pink flowers would bloom and only one per season would be this beautiful orange color!

HIBISCUS_01

A quick story about the color orange. . . When I was about 8 years old and a Girl Scout with Troop 124 (yes, I still remember that troop number), we once went on a camping trip to Camp Whites Landing which is located on Catalina Island, off the coast of Los Angeles. We had to pack a sleeping bag, and back then orange was my favorite color. Mom and Dad bought me this super warm, super big, bright orange sleeping bag and it was so slippery on the outside that my 8-year-old self could not roll it up. My greatest memory of that trip was watching my troop leader and another adult try to roll up that slippery sleeping bag before the ferry came to take up back up to the mainland! We kept the bag for many years, but eventually it was given away. Luckily, we still have my Care Bear slumber bag which is much easier to roll up. . .

Now, back to yarn. I finished up a custom sock order this week for a bride whose wedding is later this year. She picked out the colors herself and they will be shipped off to her as soon as I print out the postage label.

KACI_DRAPES_SWEETHEARTSOCKS_01 KACI_DRAPES_SWEETHEARTSOCKS_02

I had forgotten that I also made 3 pairs of custom socks last year for a customer who wanted to give them to her sisters as Christmas gifts. The one on the left is the customer and the middle and right are her sisters’ socks.

COOKHULSEYKRIEK_SOCKS_01_WP

Last month I also finished testing a new pattern, WAHINE SOCKS, to complement my Kane Socks. Wahine in Hawaiian means woman or female, Kane means man or male, and the found the inspirational Hawaiian designs while visiting Disney’s Aulani Resort on Oahu.

This is WAHINE SOCKS in Knitpicks Stroll in Merlot Heather and Sunset Multi:

WAHINESOCKS_MERLOTSUNSET_01 WAHINESOCKS_MERLOTSUNSET_04 WAHINESOCKS_MERLOTSUNSET_05

And for fun, here are last year’s testing of KANE SOCKS in Knitpicks Stroll in Midnight Heather and Blue Topaz:

KANESOCKS_01KANESOCKS_02

enjoy!

Responses

  1. I wonder if my fascination with orange is because of you?? =D I’m kind of thinking it started with Blood Oranges, and now this Orange Hibiscus is on my ‘must have’!
    Everything is beautiful…as usual!
    Oh! A Care Bears slumber bag?? Hee hee!

    Like

    • Thanks E! Oh, I am loving orange right now, especially with spring coming. I’ll have to dye up a Blood Oranges soon. LOL – oh, I couldn’t part with my Care Bears slumber bag 🙂

      Like

  2. I love those socks!!!!! Is there a pattern for them?? The Kane and Wahine Socks. Hope to overdye my peach yarn to lavender this week. Waiting for the dye to arrive.

    Like

    • Hi Elaine! Glad you like the socks. I don’t have a written pattern yet since I’m still testing. I’m thinking about putting them together and selling the pattern as a set 🙂 Can’t wait to see your dyed yarn. Be sure to take before and after photos!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

