Hawaii, Photography, Travel

Images of Hawaii – Part 3

Aloha and Hau’oli Makahiki Hou! Happy New Year!

I was hoping to post more photos while in Hawaii but my internet connection was poor, so I had to wait until I returned home. Without further delay, here’s Part 3 . . .

The banner (above) for my blog page is a photo I took from the Lanikai Pillbox Hike a few years back.  We did the hike again and here’s another picture from just under the eve of the pillbox overlooking the Mokalua Islands.

One of the places we stayed was in the town of Hawaii Kai and this is a view of Koko Head Crater. I thought about attempting the challenging hike up the crater, but after reading about it online, I think this photo will suffice . . . for now!

Sunset @ Hawaii Kai

I love this photo! I had never done the “World’s Largest Maze” – the Pineapple Maze – at the Dole Plantation before so we decided to take a crack at it. This tree was near the entrance. Well, we didn’t go through the entire maze, but it was awesome to see that the maze ‘walls’ were created with pink hibiscus plants.

Sunsets are magical in Hawaii and we were able to catch this sunset last minute at a beach park in Diamond Head, Oahu. By the time we arrived, there was already a crowd gathering for the big show. I took this photo just before the final sliver of sun went down. (For you yarnies, I just posted Diamond Head Sunset yarn on the shoppe.)

Although it was kind of rainy during our stay, the last week was absolutely beautiful. This is a view from our favorite beach, Waimanalo.

Here is another Diamond Head sunset photo, after the sun went down. I love how the lighthouse is silhouetted amongst the trees.

Another photo from the Lanikai Pillbox hike.

And lastly, we were driving back to town from the quaint north shore town of Haleiwa and caught this gorgeous sunset with the dark clouds above. It looks like it’s on fire!!  (Yes, a colorway will follow shortly.)

A knitting update: I was able to complete 2.5 pairs of socks over the holiday and it was great getting time to knit. I’ll post those on the shoppe and blog shortly.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Images of Hawaii – Part 3”

    1. Right back at ya! Your blog is awesome and congrats on your wedding. Looks like a wonderful trip!
      Thanks for your Calif blogs – we’re here in LA and need to make it up north for some sightseeing 🙂

      Like

    1. HA! We loved watching Lost because we loved seeing places we used to visit when we lived on Oahu. Ah, those were the days. Thanks for checking out the photos 🙂

      Like

  1. Oh Goodness!! All of these are gorgeous!! If I had to choose a favorite, I’d say the lighthouse at Diamond Head. A mix of some of my faves: gray, pink and a lighthouse! =))
    Hope all the vacation was as splendid as what we’ve seen in the pics! =)

    Like

  2. Oh, Christina, it sounds like you had such a lovely time. But being selfish, I’m so glad you are back home. We really missed you.

    Like

Leave a comment