Photography, Travel

Hau’oli Makahiki Hou – Happy New Year 2013!

ALOHA and Happy 2013!

After spending the Christmas holiday with our family in Ohio, we are back in California ready for what 2013 will bring. Speaking of Ohio, we did get snow the day after Christmas and it stayed on the ground for the remainder of the week. The sun did peek out most days and the wind was calm so all in all, good weather. Here’s a photo through the car window of the Ohio Snow:

photo

I thought I’d post some photos from our New England cruise, which was back in October 2012, since I have yet to do so. This first one is from Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse in Nova Scotia. The clouds were literally rolling in as we arrived and soon it was overcast, but I was able to snap this photo just before it became completely cloudy.

PEGGYSCOVE

I’m going out of order, but we actually started the trip in Brooklyn and I had to get Lady Liberty before we launched. The sun was just going down and I was able to get this ferry in front of the statue as well.

LADYLIBERTY

One of our stops was the beautiful state of Maine. We docked in Bar Harbor, had lunch in town – what a great town! – then took a tour up to Cadillac Mountain in Acadia National Park. Since it was Fall, the trees were turning color and was just beautiful.

CADILLACMTN

Another beautiful stop was Newport, Rhode Island where our ship had to dock on the water and we took little boats (tenders) to shore. You can see our ship, the Caribbean Princess, on the bottom right corner of the photo. Dad, Hubby and I took a shoreline walk and came across this magnificent bare tree. I thought it shape and color was a great foreground element against the sky and sea. I had to wait for others to step away from the tree before I could snap the photo, but it was worth the wait!

BARENAKEDTREE

Some things I’m looking forward to this year . . .

I’m excited to be working with an incredible group of folks on our next movie project, Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs 2, which is scheduled for release this September. We’ve got a facebook page that has photos of our voice talent and some fun info on our show. Check it out next time you’re on FB.

As far as knitting is concerned, I’m hoping to finish some UFO (UnFinished Objects) . This includes my first lace project. I started it last year and was challenged by it, but am determined to finish! I also started a needlepoint project back in 2011, Mom’s sweater started in 2010 (shame on me for taking so long to finish, I know) and I’ll be making Mom a new felt Christmas stocking since hers needs to be updated. Not sure she knows yet that I’m making her one . . . 🙂

I also want to learn a new technique and started entrelac this week. I’m slowing getting the hang of it, but have great motivation to keep going. My friend Debra gifted me a beautiful skein of merino/silk  yarn for Christmas and I want to make an entrelac cowl with it so I’m practicing!

Lastly, I’m hoping to put more sock patterns on paper and hopefully get them on the shoppe as well as new yarn/wool colorways.

Hope you all had a lovely holiday season and wish you a wonderful 2013!

Leave a Reply

