Posted by: AlohaBlu | May 20, 2012

2012 Yarn & Fiber Colors – Weeks 19 & 20

Aloha! These past 2 weeks have flown by and I’ve got some some fun stuff to share.

This week I received the May 2012 Knitpicks.com catalog and sat on the couch next to the hubby one night leafing through the pages when I stopped and saw . . . they added my photo to their catalog! Holy Schnikes! Really?? Here’s page 15 with my Hawaiian Tattoo Socks pattern being the first one on the second row. And they put me next to Camille Chang’s pattern (for me, that’s like being next to Picasso) which is just an honor to be on the same page. Yes, Mom, I’ll get a copy of the catalog for you 🙂

And the colors for weeks 19 and 20 are oldies, but goodies – starting with BEACH UMBRELLA PASTEL in Falkand British Merino/tencel lace yarn and Polwarth roving:

More purples with LAVENDER FIELDS in 80/20 Merino/Silk roving, superwash Merino/nylon fingering yarn and Cashmere/Merino/nylon fingering yarn:

This colorway is a somewhat new one and brings back fond memories of a mid-afternoon snack. This is PRETZELS & BEER in English Shetland roving and superwash Merino/nylon fingering yarn:

The last two colorways come from my favorite place on earth, Hawaii. This is LANIKAI in Cashmere/Merino/nylon fingering yarn and Merino/tencel roving:

And from the island of Kauai, WAILUA FALLS in Mixed BFL/Silk roving and superwash Merino/nylon fingering yarn:

This weekend I’m participating in a virtual Spin-In where a bunch of us all over the US are taking the weekend to spin as much we can and post photos of our work. We are also doing a yarn swap of our handspun yarn – how fun! I was already working on some cormo yarn prior to the Spin-In so I had to finish that first. Here are the results so far.

This is 3.83 oz of Cormo roving | 32 WPI (lace weight) | 606 yds | 2 ply

After plying that, I started on my first real piece for the weekend. This is from my very first drum carded batt using gray merino wool and peach-pink merino/silk wool:

off for more spinning! enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

