Yarn/Roving

2012 Yarn & Fiber Colors – Weeks 17 & 18

Aloha Everyone!

Thanks to all to took advantage of my MAYDAY sale last week 🙂 I was able to clear out a bunch of yarn and wool to make room for new wool lines. Please check the shoppe shortly for new listings.

Here the the colors for Weeks 17 & 18.

A new colorway, COFFEE BEAN & TEA LEAF, named for my favorite mainland coffee shop. This is superwash merino lace yarn and superwash merino/nylon wool.

Another new colorway, EIFFEL AT NIGHT. I took this photo just before we rode the elevator to the platform for a spectacular view of Paris. This is superwash merino fingering yarn and 21.5m merino wool roving.

PURPLE OVERLAY, another new colorway, is based on one of my first experiments with dyeing. I, like most dyers, started with kool-aid and food coloring and dyed up a skein with electric orange, green and blue. This was so bright that I could hardly knit without wearing sunglasses! So, I frogged my knitting, wound the yarn back into a skein and overdyed with a medium purple and it came out similar to this. (As an aside, I ended up knitting myself a pair of socks with the overdyed yarn and love them!)

In honor of the coming summer, this is PEACH COBBLER in merino/silk lace yarn and BFL/silk wool.

I did a bit of spinning and spun up about 200 yds of fingering weight targhee yarn. CALICO, named for the old ‘ghost’ mining town in the California desert is just under 2 oz.

enjoy!

2 thoughts on “2012 Yarn & Fiber Colors – Weeks 17 & 18”

Leave a Reply

