Knitting, Photography

Hyperbolic Crochet Coral Reef @ Art Center

This weekend, we visited the prestigious Art Center College of Design nestled in the hills of Pasadena for a truly amazing exhibit using my favorite medium – yarn!! I learned about this fantastic show from my fellow fiber enthusiast and crocheter extraordinaire, Chantal, who also contributed pieces to the show! Congratulations Chantal – what an amazing project to be a part of! I was truly in heaven as I walked through the gallery looking at graceful shapes and color these artisans created. Here are just a few of the many photos I took. Enjoy!

a close up of the blue part:

this one was one of hubby’s favorites because of the movement/shape and the artistic effort. . . not to mention it was all crocheted using plastic bags! yes, my jaw is still on the floor . . .

For more information, you can check out their website: crochetcoralreef.org

10 thoughts on “Hyperbolic Crochet Coral Reef @ Art Center”

  1. Oh WOW! Truly gorgeous works of art in YARN! Thank you for posting this and sending me the link. It inspired me to continue growing in my crafting!

    Like

  2. Oh, Christina, those are amazing! I can’t fathom knitting all that!
    WOW! Thank you so much for sharing this with those of us who can’t get there in person.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed this immensely. Reminds me of the work of a famous glass-blower (whose name I am blocking on) from Seattle, who shapes and blows glass to look like exotic blossoms and sea creatures. Thanks for allowing the world to see your work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

