Posted by: AlohaBlu | July 31, 2011

Homage to Sock Summit 2011

So, I had hoped to attend Sock Summit in Portland this year but alas, plans changed and wasn’t able to this year. I do hope it’s super successful that they would want to do it again and maybe then I’ll get my chance. I think this would be Nirvana for someone like me to likes to knit socks – a convention dedicated to sock knitting. Swoon!

In honor of this year’s event, I’m posting some of my latest WIP (work-in-progress) projects, some finished ones and sneak peeks to my latest designs.

~~

A = my “Hawaiian Tattoo Socks” in KP’s Bare and Stroll Tonal in Blue Yonder.

B = my “Diamonds in the Rough Socks” in KP Stroll in Eggplant and Lantana (discontinued colors). I may have posted these before . . .

C = this is one of my newest designs, still a WIP called “Smocked Socks”.  I finished the cuff just after taking the photo today so I am now starting on the 2nd sock. This is KP’s Stroll Tonal in Kindling and Foliage and I love the great ‘fall’ colors!

D = Also one of the newer designs. I’ve been working on this one since February and it’s kind of challenging, but I am a bit crazy! This is my “TriColor Socks” and they are knitted with 3 (yes 3!) different lace weight yarns in Fair Isle knitting (I did say I was a bit crazy). The body of the socks have each color knitted as a single stitch, except for the toes, heel and cuff which are 2 strands held together. This is KP’s Shadow Tonal in Canopy and Springtime and KP’s Merino Wool lace weight yarn (white).

E = another version of my “Shamrock Socks” in Stroll Multi in Lucky and Bare fingering.

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. What a great way to celebrate Sock Summit! I wanted to go but work got in the way. Then the court decided to cancel, but it was too late to go!

    Like

  2. Ha ha! I wanted to go but work got in the way too! Ah, but that’s ok. I’m still hoping to make it to a fiber festival this year though not sure which one. They are so popular that I’m hoping a last minute room reservation is still possible!

    Like

  3. Hi There Dear Peeps! Happy belated birthdays to both of you’s!! I simply LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to see the posts of the yarn creations!! I was sharing the colors of the roving, yarns and inspirational pictures with Jarred, my oldest grandson (age 12!) tonight, – he says, “Wow, nice!” Your God given talent is so very precious and a lovely gift to be admired! Keep the beauty coming and by the way—I love to check out the great colors and yarns! Sending much love your way- Aunt Shari

    Like

    • Thanks so much Aunt Shari! We miss you guys – please send our love to the family. Jarred’s 12 already?? Time flies by doesn’t it? Hope you are having a great summer!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

