Yarn/Roving

Galaxy Handspun Yarn

I have been drooling over Sosae Caetano’s rovings for months now and I finally decided not just on one order, but how about a 4-month’s supply of roving? Yup, I signed up for one of her Fiber Clubs and here’s my wool and yarn from Month #1. Galaxy is a merino/bamboo blend dyed in my favorite colors: purple, blue, green. The end product is about 382 yarns of 2-ply fingering weight yarn. Happy Happy Happy!!

Galaxy wool

2-ply on the bobbin

2-ply fingering weight yarn

I am absolutely in LOVE with this yarn so it will stay in my personal stash. I had thought about making socks but since I’d want to stare at them all the time, I fear I’d end up tripping or running into things (I’m one of those uncoordinated-types who can’t walk and chew gum at the same time without choking, so socks are out). Instead I think I’m going to make myself a pair of fingerless gloves – that way if I keep my hands in front of me while I walk I can stare at them without fear of a near-death accident. πŸ™‚

(Spun & Plied | February 2011)

 

4 thoughts on “Galaxy Handspun Yarn”

  1. Okay Christina, I am SOOOOO hiring you to be my “staff photographer”!! lol Your photos rock as much as your spinning (and let me tell you, you’re one amazing spinner, getting 300-something 2ply yards out of 4oz of fiber!!!) πŸ˜€

    Thank you so much for all the ueber-kind words…I’m honored that a fine fiber artist such as yourself would feel that way! :))

    Like

    1. in a heartbeat, i’d be your photog πŸ˜‰ it’s been a while since i was up in bakersfield so it would be a nice trip. i’ll bring the hubby and we can all talk color – fun! you’re sooo talented! i LOVE all your work. its soooo nice to find a kindred spirit who can talk fiber and yarn all day long . . . a pure pleasure!

      Like

Leave a Reply

