Knitting

Sweetheart Socks

For my family growing up, Valentine’s Day was a big holiday. Dad would always give a bouquet of roses to Mom along with a box of candy. I would get a single rose and both my brother and I would get smaller boxes of chocolates. To this day, we still call each other on Valentine’s Day and extend our well wishes to our spouses and children.

I thought I’d design a Valentine’s themed sock and came up with these Sweetheart Socks. My hubby helped with the heart design so that’s really special too, especially since we would have been together for 10 years on Feb 4th!

These are Fair-Isle knitted with red and pink tonal yarn. The foot has a knitted ‘LOVE’ on the front along with 2 columns of hearts which repeat on the back of the leg.  The checkerboard foot is bordered by pink tonal yarn for the toe and short-row heel.

These socks were SOLD! on the shoppe, but I am making another pair using the pink yarn against a black background (dramatic!).  I’ve had requests for the pattern, so that will follow on the shoppe shortly as well. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sweetheart Socks”

  1. I seriously love these socks. They are so cute! What yarn did you use? The light pink looks like the Stroll Tonal in Queen Anne, am I calling that right? Is the red the same in Gypsy? I wish I could pair yarn like that – awesome!

    By the way, I posted the Kale Chips recipe you asked for. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Kali! I had just read your Kale Chips recipe right before I saw this comment! That’s right about the olive oil – I forgot that ingredient. My brother’s first batch came out too saturated if I remember correctly, but after that he knew how much oil to use. They were delicious!

      YES! This is Queen Anne and Gypsy. I did another version using Queen Anne and Black on my socks page: https://alohablu.wordpress.com/alohablusocks. I think the black/pink is a bit more dramatic, but I like both overall.

      Like

Leave a Reply

