Knitting, Yarn/Roving

Introducing . . . Leialoha

Since we will be traveling on Christmas Eve & Day we decided to celebrate our Christmas this weekend.  A huge MAHALO to my wonderful hubby Jake, Mom & Pop, Mom & Dad, and J/C/A/M/H for contributing to my Christmas gift – a spinning wheel!

Since some of my fellow spinners name their spindles or wheels, I thought it might be nice to give a name to my new gift.  Introducing Leialoha (lay-aloha), a beautiful Ashford Joy double treadle spinning wheel 🙂 I’ve spent the weekend getting used to the treadles and trying to keep a consistent rhythm with the yarn. Of course, my very first spun yarn was rather ‘artsy’ – completely over-spun with weights varying between super-bulky to cobweb yarn. In other words, my spinning was all over the place! But that is to be expected.

My first spun single and 2-ply using my hand-dyed wool:

I got better my second go-around and had a bit more consistency with the second batch:

Leialoha is a compact New Zealand-made wheel that was designed to be mobile. I like this model it because it doesn’t take up a lot of space, can fold up and be stored and it has the wheel ratios I was looking for to create different weight yarns. Leialoha came standard with 3 bobbins, but I was able to get 3 ‘bonus’ bobbins and some Corriedale wool as well.  It truly is amazing how much more wool you can spin with a wheel than a spindle. What would take me a few days to a week to spin is now just a matter of hours.

Of course, I now need more wool to spin 🙂

‘Leialoha’ is Hawaiian for ‘beloved child’. Though don’t actually think of my wheel as an offspring, I’ve always liked the name.

Mahalo Nui Loa to my awesome husband and family for this lovely gift!

7 thoughts on “Introducing . . . Leialoha”

  1. WeeHa!! Congratulations! I’m so excited for you. I’m sure there are hours and hours and HOURS of fun ahead for you! And speaking of more fiber….PMing you next minute!
    Have a wonderful family celebration weekend!

    Like

  2. I am so, so jealous! What a wonderful Christmas present. I’m so glad you said what Leialoha means, because that was going to be my first question. Your first attempts are quite lovely.

    Have a Merry Christmas!

    Like

    1. Thanks Cheryl. I was feeling a bit sad for my spindles since I was neglecting them over the weekend – LOL. I hope you get your wheel soon too. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and yours.

      Like

    1. Thanks Kali. I’ve been spinning nearly every day and am so glad you posted photos of your spun single that you chain plied! I’m spinning up a long Corriedale single and will hopefully try chain plying before we travel. Nice stockings by the way 🙂 I think they came out very nicely. Happy Christmas to you and Rob!

      Like

Leave a Reply

