Photography, Travel

Basilica San Petro Cupola | St. Peter’s Dome

In 1999, I surprised family and friends by deciding to travel through Italy for a month . . . alone.

It was a wonderful time for new sights, sounds, tastes as well as self-discovery. Armed with 1 rolling luggage, a backpack, camera, guide books and a thick novel, I made my way through Rome, Central Italy, Florence, Venice and the Coast.

In Rome, I made sure to visit Vatican City to tour the Museums, St. Peter’s Basilica and eventually made my way to the very top of the dome. As you near the top, the walls cave inward giving you a sense of vertigo! This picture was taken with the camera positioned perpendicular to the floor.

In 2004, I returned to Italy with my husband and challenged him to see how fast we can make it up the 320 steps to the top. We did it in less than 10 minutes 🙂

(Vatican City, Italy | February 1999)

Leave a Reply

